2 October 2022


"Open to all, but Influenced by None"

Re-shuffle in the Bengal cabinet, how & why : an analysis

Ankur Chatterjee: After the shocking scam revelations in the Trinamool Party by the Enforcement Directorate, the party supremo and state CM Mamata Banerjee announced her decision to re-shuffle major cabinet positions, ousting old faces and anointing new ones.

TMC’s political opponents claim that it was senior party member and former Education Minister Partha Chatterjee’s dramatic involvement in a school recruitment scam and the ED’s subsequent exposé, that enkindled Ms. Banerjee to attempt and save her, her party’s, and her close confidante’s reputation.

This is the first time in three consecutive terms (that spans eleven years and counting) that such a major restructuring is being undertaken at the party’s administrative level by the Trinamool supremo. The reshuffle features fresh new cabinet members that includes – Babul Supriyo, Snehasis Chakraborty, Partha Bhowmick, Udayan Guha, Pradip Mazumder, Tajmul Hossain, Satyajit Barman, Birbaha Hansda, and Biplab Roy Chowdhury who took oath in Kolkata under the presence of state’s Governor La Ganesan. 

The sequence of crucial events that transpired before Wednesday’s major administrative overhaul in the Trinamool party are as followed.

Ms. Banerjee, on Monday, said that her ministerial cabinet will be going through a significant re-shuffle, and new faces are going to be inducted as ministers in essential duties and responsibilities. 

She said, “There have only been a few cabinet reshuffles in the recent 11 years, and they have all been modest. This time, however, things are different.”

Another senior TMC MLA earlier said, “There have never been plans to bring in four to five fresh faces while removing a similar number from the cabinet. As a result, this is likely to be one of the most significant reshuffles in the state since our party took power.”

Partha Chatterjee was in charge of five major departments, including industry, commerce and enterprises, and parliamentary affairs, when he was removed of his ministerial duties. Earlier he had had the education ministry to his portfolio as well. 

Following the deaths of in-charge ministers Subrata Mukherjee and Sadhan Pandey, Ms. Banerjee took over the panchayat and PHE departments, as well as consumer affairs, self-help groups, and self-employment. These positions are currently held by other ministers.

On Monday, the TMC underwent a major organisational revamp, with the leadership of 16 of the 35 organisational districts changing.

Abhishek Banerjee’s mark was visible in the reshuffle, which saw several “non-performers” fired and others relieved of organisational roles, opening the door for ministerial slots.

Even though the previous number Ms. Banerjee gave was four or five as new faces of ministers, the final list included a total of nine faces who are now inducted in various responsibilities within the administration.

Here are the name of the new cabinet members alongside a brief description of them:

Babul Surpiyo–  Supriyo, a former Union minister & MP from BJP who defected to the TMC after being ousted from the Union cabinet last year, is now a TMC MLA from Kolkata’s Ballygunge assembly constituency.

Udayan Guha– Guha, a former Forward Bloc leader who joined the TMC following the 2016 assembly elections, is a forerunner for cabinet appointment from north Bengal. He is the son of former Left Front minister Kamal Guha and one of the tallest TMC politicians in Cooch Behar district.

Partha Bhowmick, Snehasis Chakraborty– Bhowmick and Chakraborty, who are close to TMC national general secretary Abhishek Banerjee, have been stripped of their organisational responsibilities in the districts of North 24 Parganas and Hooghly, respectively, so that they could play a significant part in the ministerial cabinet.

Birbaha Hansda– Birbaha Hansda is a former actress and politician. She is the Minister of State for Forests and Consumer Affairs in the West Bengal government, as well as a member of the Legislative Assembly from the Jhargram seat.

Tajmul Hossain– Tajmul Hossain is an All India Trinamool Congress politician from India. He was elected to the West Bengal Legislative Assembly from Harishchandrapur in May 2021. (Vidhan Sabha constituency)

Biplab Roy Chowdhury, Satyajit Barman– Chowdhury and Barman are TMC Legislative Assembly members representing Pankura Purba and Uttar Dinajpur, respectively.

Pradip Mazumder– Mazumdar is an All India Trinamool Congress politician from India. He was elected to the West Bengal Legislative Assembly from the Durgapur Purba constituency in the 2021 election.

Also read: ” The ED Probe is action against democracy,” Rahul Gandhi https://newscope.in/?p=9803

%d bloggers like this: